Located 45 km from Beirut, it was built in 1812 by Emir Bechir Chehab II for his three sons, Qassim, Khalil and Amine, and is a masterpiece of Oriental architecture. The most spectacular view of the palace is from the beautiful Damour River and village of Deir El Kamar (5 Km before Beiteddine). The Palace is divided into three main sections: Dar El Barraniyyeh, Dar El Wousta and Dar El Harim. In summer several restaurants and craft shops can be found on the grounds of the palace, which is also the venue of a major cultural festival.